Theatre BC’s Eric Hamber Award

Honoring Members Life-time Contributions To Community Theatre

Theatre BC’s most prestigious award is presented on an annual basis, if merited, as a part of the provincial MAINSTAGE Festival awards Ceremony. The Eric Hamber Award is given to a person, group or institution having made an outstanding contribution to community theatre in British Columbia over a long period.

To nominate a worthy candidate, please fill out the form below and mail or fax to the Theatre BC Office:

2014 Eric Hamber Award Winner: Terry Miller

From Left to Right: Debby Helf (2013 Eric Hamber Award Winner), Terry Miller (2014 Eric Hamber Award Winner), Theatre BC President Glen Miller

This year’s recipient of the Eric Hamber award is enjoying a significant career in community theatre as an actor, director, producer, set builder, board member, president – you name it this person does it. He started, as many do, 30 years ago by acting. But, as a born leader, he was quick to get totally involved in community theatre. For nearly 20 years he has held almost every position on his Community Theatre’s Board, while directing plays, building sets, and running lights.

His passion for theatre is catching and inspiring. He brings those who work with him up to his level. He never asks anything of anyone that he isn’t willing to do himself. His theatre motto is “to have fun and have a show we can all be proud of.”

His work IN the theatre is constant and prolific. But his greater contribution is what he does FOR theatre and the people in it. He brings people to the theatre. He sees their potential and understands how they fit into the weird little family that is community theatre. This past season, he bridged the gap between two neighboring, and sometimes competing, communities by directing Calendar Girls which played in Kimberley for one week and then moved to Cranbrook for a second week of sold out performances. To make things even more interesting, the Community Theatre is the steward of a heritage building, the Studio/Stage Door-which was originally a Masonic Lodge.

So, as you can image most of the society’s board meetings revolve around caring for the building; which includes maintaining a relationship with the City of Cranbrook, up keep and improvements, along with rentals; tasks that this year’s recipient always plays a part in. But theatre isn’t his only passion. A few years ago, he created the Beannick concert series. Concert goers paid in advance the three singer-songwriter series. They didn’t know the artists or even the dates in advance and were not allowed to whine if they didn’t like it. The end result… 21 sold-out shows.

The 2014 winner of the Eric Hamber Award is Terry Miller of the Cranbrook Community Theatre Society. Terry has taken time out of the rehearsal schedule of his upcoming production, Halo, by Canadian Playwright Josh MacDonald, to be here tonight.

—Glen Miller, Theatre BC President, Awards Ceremony Speech

Past Recipients

2014—Terry Miller (KOZ)
2013—Debby Helf (OKZ)
2012—Ann Booth (NSZ)
2011—Sarah McLean (OKZ)
2010—William R. Elliott (posthumously)
2009—Frank Goodsir
2008—Sharon Lynch
2007—Stephen Heal (posthumously)
2006—Mary Huggins
2005—Bud Abbott
2004—Biddy Jones
2003—Dori & Paddy McGarrigle
2002—Gail Limber
2001—Lorraine Allum
2000—George Young
1999—Jim Harding
1998—Merry Hallsor
1997—David Jones
1996—Arlene Blundell
1995—Donna and Fred Lamb
1994—Not Awarded
1993—Major Llewellyn “Bill” Bullock-Webster (posthumously)
1992—Sheila Coultish
1991—Gwen Crowe
1990—John Krich
1989—Theatre Kelowna Society
1988—James Bowlby
1987—Nanaimo Theatre Group
1986—Jose Smith
1985—Anne and Don Marsh
1984—Jay Norton
1983—Derek McCooey
1982—Ruth Cunningham & Bernie Legge
1981—Terrace Little Theatre
1980—Not Awarded
1979—Mien Van Heek
1978—Norman Young
1977—Franklin Johnson
1976—Dorothy Goldrick
1975—Paddy Malcolm English
1974—Keith and Edith Shadforth
1973—Gwen Pharis Ringwood
1972—Margaret Rushton
1971—Capt. C. F. Gibson and W.A.D.
1970—Doug Huggins
1969—Vernon Little Theatre
1968—Tom Kerr
1967—Jack Richardson, Vancouver Sun
1966—Sidney Risk
1965—Yvonne Firkins
1964—Jessie L. Richardson and Ann Mossman
1963—Sid Williams
1962—Anne Adamson And Don Rush
1961—Phoebe Smith and Dorothy Somerset
1960—White Rock Little Theatre
1959—Holiday Theatre
1958—G.T. Lee
1957—Vancouver Little Theatre
1956—Not Awarded
1955—Peace River Playwrights
1950 –