Executive Board

The British Columbia Drama Association/Theatre BC

President: Glen Miller

Located in North Vancouver

Glen has been involved in theatre since doing a public school production of Jesus Christ Superstar (hence his quest to convince his local theatre company to stage it) where the lighting involved switching breaker panels on and off with three coloured row of spotlights (wow technology has changed a lot since then, but come to think of it he no longer wears tie die shirts or has long hippie hair except for Halloween), and he has been involved in designing lighting for shows in Toronto, Vancouver, Atlanta and London (with the that latter he likes to pretend it is the West End but alas it is London Ontario). Currently he is President of Deep Cove Stage Society in North Vancouver. Glen has only been involved with Theatre BC for 3 years, so he is the new kid on the block. When not experimenting with new LED lighting, Glen is a 9-1-1 consultant and travels way too much, and also has a web hosting and development business.

EMAIL: glen.miller@theatrebc.org

Vice-President: Penny Banye

Located in Vernon

Penny joined Powerhouse Theatrical Society in September 1975. Active in all areas of the theatre over the years, Penny produced Play Memory when the play represented TBC and Canada in Monaco in 1989. She was Awarded Best Actress at the OKZone Festival in 1987. Penny has served on the Powerhouse Theatrical Society Board as Membership. and Publicity Manager, VP and President. She was honoured with a Life Membership with the club a few years ago. Prior to her 2 year term as the chair of the Okanagan Zone Penny was the Powerhouse Club rep. Penny is currently serving a 2 year term as TBC VP.

EMAIL: penny.bayne@theatrebc.org

Vice-President: Wes Eccleston

Located in Kamloops

Wesley was born and raised in Kamloops. A product of Performing Arts Westsyde, he performed in New York and toured Europe right out of highschool. Wesley returned to initially study theatre at TRU (then UCC), and following memorable roles in Michael Christofer’s “The Shadow Box” and Arthur Miller’s “Creation of the World”, he co-founded 3 Men of Sin Theatre Productions in 1997. He served as an actor, director, designer, and technician on over 30 shorts and fully mounted productions. After stagings of Edward Albee’s “The Zoo Story” and Rose & Kugler’s “Newhouse”, Wesley concluded his ongoing post-graduate studies at the University of Alberta in 2001.

Wesley has since proudly served as an Artist in Residence for the provincial Arts Smarts program. He actively participates with municipal and provincial arts organizations, such as the Kamloops Arts Council and TheatreBC’s Mainstage Festivals. He has collaborated on local theatricals with Western Canada Theatre, Kamloops Symphony Orchestra and The BC Living Arts Society.

Wesley presently instructs first and second year acting courses, lectures in theatre history, and annually directs a production for the Actors Workshop Theatre season. Memorable productions include George F. Walker’s “Beautiful City”, Arthur Miller’s “After the Fall”, and John Murrell’s “Waiting for the Parade”.

EMAIL: wes.eccleston@theatrebc.org

Vice-President: Marianne Brorup-Weston

Located in Terrace

Marianne was the former chair of the Skeena Zone. Elected to the Executive Board at the Theatre BC Annual General Meeting in 2014.

She currently resides in Terrace BC and is an integral part of the Terrace Little Theatre.

EMAIL: marianne.brorup.weston@theatrebc.org

Treasurer: Richard Kerton

Located in Courtenay

I have been a member of Coastal Community Credit Union and the since 1991. My service on several boards in the Comox Valley such as Courtenay Rec Association, Sid Williams Theatre Society and Courtenay Little Theaatre Society has kept me in touch with community issues. I am the former Chair director for Comox Valley Credit Union and served on the Joint Steering committee during the merger of Coastal Community CU, Evergreen Savings CU and Comox Valley CU. I am treasurer for our theatre club, our North Island Zone and for Theatre BC Drama Association. My past history as General Manager of Comox District Consumers Co-op recognized that exposure and participation in the community is a benefit to the Co-op growth and success. They encouraged me to be involved and to broaden my education through business practice and mentors such as the Credit Union family. I have always been involved in our community activities and worked behind the scenes that put the plans and process to help build our community. I have three years study in the CGA program some years ago and was employed by a CGA accounting firm in Nakusp BC. As a manager I am familiar with budgets, action plans and business planning audit process, receivables and credit management. I also serve as Director on the Vancouver Island Credit Union Peer Group 4. I am currently enrolled at North Island College in the Business Administration (Marketing) degree program.

EMAIL: richard.kerton@theatrebc.org

Recording Secretary: Peter Wienold

Located in Port Alberni

Peter Wienold has been involved with community theatre since the 1970’s. He has directed, produced and acted in musicals, comedies and dramas. Peter has served on the Theatre BC board since 2005 when he was North Island Zone chair for a number of years. He was previously a Vice-President of Theatre BC and currently serves as Recording Secretary. His home club is Portal Players Dramatic Society in Port Alberni, of which he is a Past-President. Peter co-owns and operates The Graphics Factory, a printing and sign company in Port Alberni.

EMAIL: peter.wienold@theatrebc.org